Holding My Head Up High

January 2, 2016

I’m going to be honest.  I haven’t felt my absolute best in the prolapse-symptom “department” over the past couple weeks.  It’s been okay, just not great.  Why?

Is it because of increased stress due to:  working more days this month…AND going over the mountains on weekends for skiing…AND staying up way too late at nights getting ready for Christmas…AND traveling one state away for Christmas…AND eating a bit more sugar than I’m used to (and drinking more alcohol)…AND slacking off on drinking my daily gotu kola tea…AND/or…???

One thing I’m always responsible for is taking care of my posture.  Lately I’ve noticed that I can definitely do better with one component of the Whole Woman posture.

I’m really good at maintaining my lumbar curve.  I’m really good at relaxing my belly.  I’m pretty good at lifting up my chest, but…

I often find myself with head down, chin untucked.

When I DO take care to lift my head when I’m lifting my chest (and also tuck my chin), then I do feel a subtle yet noticeable difference in how “lifted” my perineum feels at the same time.

The problem is that so many daily activities require us to look down.  It’s a challenge to find ways around this, but I’m up for the challenge because I do know why it’s so important to maintain every component of the posture as often as humanly possible.

When I walked down the sidewalk today (we took our boy out for a stroller ride today), it did feel kind of weird to hold my head “so” high.  For one, It was cold out and I really wanted to hunch over to prevent any extra cold air from getting in around my neck.  But I resisted the urge.  Instead, I looked skyward at the crisp blue air and frosty trees.

At home, I tried to stay mindful of my head position whenever possible.  Mindfulness is everything.  Stay in the present.  Keep the posture.  Keep the peace.

I have to keep going back to the posture 1000 times a day.  I stray, then I go back.  Like I said, I do some components very naturally and other things I have to work at.

Healing is process.  I imagine that every time I strike the optimal posture I’m telling my pelvic organs to mold themselves and I’m telling my body to heal itself THERE….in the position of optimal wellness.

Some people want to lose weight this January.  I just want to hold my head up high!

I am healed.

Leave a Reply

