Finding An Exercise Schedule That Works

December 6, 2015

First of all, exactly 2 years ago today I found out I was pregnant with my little boy.  What a day that was!  I was in shock, disbelief, even denial because…while he might have been “planned” by some higher power, our baby wasn’t planned by us.

Although I intellectually knew that our surprise baby would turn out to be a “good thing,” it still took me a while to get over the initial stress caused by such a massive life change.  After all, I was 42 and my husband was 47 and we’d decided long ago that we didn’t want kids!  We’ve been together since ages 19 and 24 and we’ve been married for almost 19 years (as of now).

If I’d known then what I know now about having my kid (my only point of reference is him!), then surely I would have jumped for joy when I found out I was pregnant.  I still marvel at how a married couple that was soooo perfectly content without kids could become soooo crazy in love with this new person that showed up in our house!

Life can take some interesting twists and turns, that’s for sure.

Now, for today’s topic…

Exercise.  If you’ve been following this blog then you know that I got motivated a couple months ago to “step up” my exercise.  Yeah, well that didn’t last.  And this is soooo unlike the “old me.”  But, clearly the old me, the pre-baby me is very different than who I am now.

The reason I bring this up today is that I started an exercise habit 2 nights ago that just might stick.  (Stay tuned!)  Basically, I’m experimenting with doing some exercises right before bed at night instead of in the morning.

I think this schedule will work best for several reasons:

  • when my 15.5 month old is awake in the morning, I can’t exercise because he constantly wants what I have (i.e. the weights)
  • when my toddler naps, I want to do other things besides exercise
  • my exercise equipment is kept in my bedroom
  • the exercises I want to do regularly include lifting weights and using my “power tower” in a way that’s safe for prolapse
  • those exercises don’t take very long to do, and I can “feel the burn” without getting all sweaty
  • I LOVE the idea of exercising right before bed, because that way my body gets a chance to immediately rest in the horizontal position afterward
  • if I inadvertently do an exercise that’s not-so-good for prolapse, then sleeping is how my body will “recalibrate” itself

This is totally doable.  I’m talking about ~15 minutes of effective upper body work and that’s it.  I feel at peace knowing that a simple change in routine can make a big difference.

I am healed.

Leave a Reply

