Tighten the X-Axis

November 6, 2015

As I focus daily on maintaining Whole Woman posture as much as I possibly can, I find myself thinking about this one very key postural cue:

Tighten the X-Axis!

This specific component of pelvic organ support is discussed in at least 2 chapters of the book, “Saving The Whole Woman,” by Christine Ann Kent.  I do recommend that book for prolapse management as well as for prevention!  All women benefit from this postural approach.

In the book, there are two great diagrams that really helped me visualize how powerfully therapeutic it is to “Tighten the X-axis.”  Those diagrams are on page 27 (Fig. 2-38, external urethral sphincter) and page 83 (Fig. 7-2, pelvic geometry).

Note that it was my perineal body that was cut during my midline episiotomy during childbirth.  Therefore, healing my perineal body is an important part of my recovery.  It’s important that I facilitate the optimum function of those fibers.  I do that simply by maintaining proper posture.  How easy is that?!

From the book, here are some facts about the perineal body.  Note that I’ve added the bold for my own emphasis as I visualize my anatomy working as it should:

“Between vagina and anus, this pyramid-shaped fibromuscular structure connects across the pelvic outlet to either side of the ischiopubic rami by way of the deep transverse perineal muscle.”

“The perineal body is indirectly attached to the tailbone by the external anal sphincter, which is attached at its other end to the coccyx.”

“The perineal body serves as an anchor for soft tissue structures of the perineum, yet its fibrous core also provides distensibility necessary to rebound against intra-abdominal pressure.”

“The deep transverse perineal muscle wraps around the distal portion of the urethra, envelops the vaginal opening, and then fans out laterally to form a muscular triangle across the anterior half of the pelvic outlet.”

(sacrum) “nutation causes the ischial tuberosities to move away from one another laterally”

“As the sit bones move apart, the urogenital diaphragm tightens across the middle, elevating and stabilizing the urethra within its muscular framework.”

I swear that I can feel the positive effects of “tightening my x-axis.”  Indeed, I can feel my sit bones moving apart.  I can feel a gentle lifting and (not unpleasant) pulling sensation…which must be my urethra being elevated and stabilized.

I feel at peace because I understand that my body’s anatomy was designed right.  And– although I had a difficult childbirth and a cut perineal body– I also know that my body’s mission is to heal itself.

My job is simply to do what I can to facilitate that innate healing.  Fortunately, that’s an easy task.  All it comes down to is posture, breathing, a healthy diet, and a positive attitude.

I am healed.

Leave a Reply

