Cyclical Patterns

November 4, 2015

Maybe I sound like a broken record, because I just mentioned this 5 days ago, but I’m just going to say it again…

There’s DEFINITELY a pattern to my prolapse symptoms, and it has everything to do with my menstrual cycle.

Today is cycle day 15, and– while I am typing up this post mid-day instead of late at night– it’s clear that today I feel noticeably better than the past several days.  So far, I’ve felt “almost normal,” which means I feel the best that I’ve felt post-baby.

Hormones!

According to my phone app, my predicted ovulation day was yesterday, and I can sense that it was probably completely accurate.

“Estrogen is at its peak one to two days prior to ovulation…Estrogen drops dramatically after ovulation.”

“This estrogen surge signals the release of LH (Luteinizing Hormone)…The LH surge occurs 12-24 hours prior to ovulation but LH begins to rise about 36 hours before ovulation.”

Hormones are powerful, I tell you!  It’s ridiculous to think that my pelvic organs would have moved around enough to make me feel so markedly better one day, compared to being in a position to make me feel “so-so” (which is never all that bad) the day(s) before.

The only thing I have left to figure out is why I’ve only just picked up on this pattern in the past 2-3 months.  The pattern seems really obvious to me now.

I suppose it’s just one more example of how LONG the my body takes to recover from pregnancy and birth.  Recall that I didn’t really breast feed (after ~4 weeks I quit trying to force it to work), so my first post-partum “period” (it was incredibly light) came just before my baby was 3 months old.

Naturally, it takes a while for the menstrual cycles to “re-normalize” after they resume.  So the obvious reason why it took me so long to notice the pattern is that it’s only become a pattern very recently.

So that is all for now.  I’ll say this one more time:  Peace comes in predictable patterns!

I am healed.

Leave a Reply

