Ballet

10-09-15

First, I want to mention that I’ve noticed some low back pain over the past couple days.  I can’t attribute it to anything specific that I’ve done.  I wonder if I’ve just gotten a little “too good” at maintaining my lumbar curve.

It’s been easy for me to relax my belly but I think sometimes that I (unintentionally) force the lumbar curve.  As a result, I’m trying to focus on the postural cue “lift the chest” instead of even thinking about my back.  We’ll see how it goes…

Ok– onto today’s topic:

BALLET!

Today I finally put on the ~46 minute long instrumental piano music CD that came with my book, “Saving the Whole Woman,” by Christine Ann Kent.  You’re supposed to do the barre workout (described in the book) to the music.

I didn’t follow along with the workout timing exactly as instructed, but I liked listening while I “pliéd and tendued.”

The barre moves use 1st position of the feet, 2nd position of the feet, 1st position of the arms, 2nd position of the arms, 5th position of the arms, plié, tendu, relevé, ankle movements, leg lifts, half moons, leg swings, and forward and backward bends.

Although this workout is fairly easy to do, I could tell right away that it’s going to tone up some muscles that I haven’t been using.  For one, the plié is a great, safe way to work the legs and butt.  And secondly– since I’m not at all used to standing and moving in and out of the externally rotated hip posture of 1st position feet– I was happy to notice how my muscles were awakened in this “new” posture.

I’m learning more and more with exercise these days that “less is more” often applies.  Exercises that seem relatively easy on the surface can provide more benefits that you might initially realize.

Sure– to add muscle strength and mass it’s absolutely necessary to stress muscles to the point where they’ll respond with hypertrophy.  Yet, so often the postural muscles are overlooked.  That creates vulnerabilities in our bodies due to altered alignment and muscular imbalance.

I’m feeling enjoyment and peace as I open myself up to a “back to basics” approach to muscular toning.  I took ballet when I was a kid but I long ago forgot how fun it could be.  I kind of feel motivated to look into more ballet workouts.  (I just did a Google search for “ballet workouts” and I see that I could check out a number of options!)

Never stop learning.  Never stop trying new things!

I am healed.

One thought on “Ballet

  1. Wonderful post! I am glad I stumbled upon it. I always enjoy hearing about people taking ballet classes/ballet workouts. I love how you said that, “exercises that seem relatively easy on the surface can provide more benefits than you might initially realize.” I couldn’t agree more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

