Swiss Ball Push-up/Plank

10-08-15

This seems to be a safe way to do a modified push-up and plank with prolapse.  Here’s what I do:

  1. Get into push-up/plank position using the Swiss Ball to support under the pelvic area/upper thighs.
  2. Bend the knees so that the feet fall backward.  This seems to help preserve the lumbar curve.
  3. Keep the head in line with the spine, (gaze directed toward the floor).
  4. Do a push up with regular or wide spaced arms.  Breathe in and out during each rep.
  5. Do a static plank hold by simply holding the plank posture, for a goal # of seconds/minutes while focusing on steady breathing.
  6. Do one-arm plank work by leaving one hand on the floor while sliding the other hand forward, back and/or laterally, for a goal # of reps.
  7. Pay attention to any tension in the belly and release it.

This exercise works the shoulders, chest, back and triceps.  It’s easy to do anytime at home, and it only takes a few minutes.  I’ll be doing a bunch today!

As I take exercises that I used to do and I modify them to be “pelvically safe” (a made-up term, but I kind of like it!), I feel a little victorious.  It gives me peace to “feel the burn”!

I am healed.

Leave a Reply

