Gotu Kola Powder

10-01-15

I didn’t blog yesterday, only because I didn’t really have anything to say.  Although my plan is to write something down every day, I suppose I won’t hold myself to a strict plan.

Yesterday I received my order from nuts.com, and in my box was a one pound bag of Gotu Kola Powder.  The powder only costs $10.99 and it’s another “little something” that I thought I’d take daily for a while to see what happens.

Gotu Kola is apparently helpful for a lot of reasons, but I’m particularly interested in it for its positive effect on wounds, connective tissue and veins.

I don’t have any wounds in my perineum, but I had one (episiotomy), and I do believe that my prolapse was caused (at least in part) by damaged connective tissue, as a result of my difficult childbirth.  If I can do something to facilitate the health of my connective tissue, I’ll do it!

Also — I don’t have varicose veins that I know of, but as I mentioned in an earlier post about my period, I do have a new and different varicose-vein-type-pain (if I even know what varicose vein pain is) in my vulva during my first 2 days of my period.  I’m curious to see if the Gotu Kola helps that.

I’d like to list ALL the neat things about Gotu Kola here, but instead I’ll refer to you to this herbwisdom.com link I found.  Here’s a short excerpt:

“According to pharmacological studies, one outcome of gotu kola’s complex actions is a balanced effect on cells and tissues participating in the process of healing, particularly connective tissues. One of its constituents, asiaticoside, works to stimulate skin repair and strengthen skin, hair, nails and connective tissue (Kartnig, 1988).”

I really have nothing to lose and a lot to gain by trying the herb.  This morning I dissolved 1 teaspoon of the powder in a mug of hot water and drank it like tea.  It tasted fine, not at all unpleasant.

Something directed me toward this herb, “regarded as one of the most important rejuvenative herbs in Ayurvedic Medicine.”  Rejuvenation = Peace!

I am healed.

Leave a Reply

