I Survived My First Day Back

09-19-15

…at work!

This is a quick follow-up to yesterday’s post.  I need to make this short and sweet because I need to go to bed so I can get up and do it all over again tomorrow.  I’m going in EARLY (like 6 AM) because I want to get home early!

Fortunately, OTs can do that!

Anyway…

Today I didn’t feel any worse while working, and a big reason was simply that I got lucky with the patients I had today.  I couldn’t have asked for a better mix.  I didn’t have to do any lifting.  (I know I won’t always be so lucky, though.)

I spent a lot of time documenting and I sat on a swivel stool to do so.  I was able to maintain good seated posture for the most part, but I do fight the urge constantly to cross my legs (both of the ways you can cross them).  I’m assuming that I need to train myself to sit still with thighs parallel and pelvis anteriorly rotated.  I think once my back muscles adapt to sitting that way for longer periods, I won’t be so fidgety.

What was really cool today was that I was able to instruct one patient in at least several components of the Whole Woman posture.  And as I walked down the hall I focused on keeping my own head up, with chin tucked.

Finally, I was using a reacher/grabber with someone today and I mentioned that I just bought one for myself yesterday!  So yeah, I made good on that promise to myself.  I love my reacher!!

Little victories give me peace.

I am healed.

Leave a Reply

